Greater Manchester elections May 2024: All the candidates vying for a place on Tameside Council

Dozens of hopeful candidates have been out canvassing local people.
Watch more of our videos on Shots! 
and live on Freeview channel 276
Visit Shots! now

The local elections next month are looming, and dozens of hopeful candidates will be vying for one of the 19 seats on Tameside Council.

On May 2, voters will get the chance to select one councillor in each ward across the borough. This is on a smaller scale to last year at the all-out elections when all 57 council seats were up for grabs following the boundary change review. 

Hide Ad
Hide Ad

The political makeup of Tameside Council currently consists of 57 elected members, 51 representing the Labour Party and six representing the Conservative Party.

A total of 56 people have been named as standing for the 19 available seats. Labour will be hoping to maintain or extend their dominance over the other parties in the borough come the start of May – fielding a candidate in every single ward.

The Tameside One council and college building in Ashton. The Tameside One council and college building in Ashton.
The Tameside One council and college building in Ashton.

Two of Labour’s top councillors will be defending their seats this time around though with cabinet members Coun Jack Naylor and Coun Eleanor Mills both up for election in Denton South and Dukinfield/Stalybridge respectively. 

In addition to the options of who they want as their local councillor, residents will get to vote on who they want as their next Greater Manchester mayor as incumbent Andy Burnham’s spot is up for election as well. So residents will have two boxes to cross when they get their ballot paper.

Hide Ad
Hide Ad

If you are not already registered to vote, you must register before midnight on Tuesday, April 16. If you vote in person at your local polling station, you must show a valid photo ID.  If you do not have any valid photo ID, you can apply for a Voter Authority Certificate instead. The deadline to apply for this certificate is 5pm on Wednesday, April 24. The deadline to apply for a postal vote is 5pm on April 17.

Tameside Council candidates in full

Ashton Hurst

  • Hilary Jones (GREEN)
  • Mohammed Karim (LAB)
  • Roy Miller (CON)

Ashton St Michael’s

  • Aaisha Ajmal (IND)
  • John Bartley (LIB DEM)
  • Kevin Berry (CON)
  • Jean Drennan (LAB)

Ashton Waterloo

  • Lee Huntbach (GREEN)
  • Sangita Patel (LAB)


  • Glenn Piper (GREEN)
  • Teresa Smith (LAB)

Denton North East

  • John Bradley (GREEN)
  • Vicent Ricci (LAB)

Residents in Tameside will go to the polls at the start of the month Residents in Tameside will go to the polls at the start of the month
Residents in Tameside will go to the polls at the start of the month

Denton South

  • Jack Naylor (LAB)
  • Chris Parr (GREEN)
  • Hayley Woodcock (CON)

Denton West

  • Clive Patrick (CON) 
  • Mike Smith (LAB)
  • Keith Whitehead (GREEN)

Droylsden East

  • Laura Boyle (LAB)
  • Rowan Fitton (LIB DEM)
  • Melissa Mooney (CON)
  • Lorraine Whitehead (GREEN)

Droylsden West

  • David Dawson (CON)
  • Barrie Holland (LAB)
  • Luke Robinson (GREEN)


  • Zebedee Powell (GREEN)
  • Naila Sharif (LAB)


  • Ben Hart (GREEN)
  • Malcolm Smith (CON)
  • Eleanor Wills (LAB)

Hyde Godley

  • Francesca Coates (LAB)
  • Andrea Colbourne (CON)
  • Emma Powell (GREEN)

Hyde Newton

  • Peter Ball-Foster (LIB DEM)
  • Andrew Moss (CON)
  • Hugh Roderick (LAB)
  • Audel Shirin (WORKERS)

Hyde Werneth

  • Alex Cooper (GREEN)
  • Jim Fitzpatrick (LAB)
  • Phil Fitzpatrick (IND)
  • Christopher Halligan (CON)


  • Trevor Clarke (GREEN)
  • Jacqueline Owen (LAB)
  • Kieron Wild (CON)


  • Stephen Homer (LAB)
  • Callum Percival (CON)
  • Sarah Whitely (GREEN)

St Peters

  • Kaleel Khan (IND)
  • David McNally (LAB)

Stalybridge North

  • Steven Barton (IND)
  • Jan Jackson (LAB)
  • Elisabeth Tilbrook (CON)
  • Amanda Hickling (GREEN)
  • Stuart McKenzie (LAB)
  • David Tilbrook (CON)

Election candidates in every Greater Manchester borough

Comment Guidelines

National World encourages reader discussion on our stories. User feedback, insights and back-and-forth exchanges add a rich layer of context to reporting. Please review our Community Guidelines before commenting.