Manchester elections May 2024: Full list of council and mayoral candidates vying for votes this year

There’s plenty on the line when voters go to the polls this May.
Watch more of our videos on Shots! 
and live on Freeview channel 276
Visit Shots! now

May 2 is a big day in Greater Manchester, with residents taking to the polls. As well as voting on local council seats, people will also be able to have their say on who the next Mayor of Greater Manchester will be. 

Over 100 council seats are up for grabs on Manchester City Council. Six candidates are also up for the mayoral seat, with incumbent Andy Burnham amongst them. 

Hide Ad
Hide Ad

Ahead of the election you need to make sure you are registered to vote. The deadline to register for both the May 2 elections is April 16, and you can do so through the UK government website.  

Full list of candidates in the Greater Manchester mayoral election on May 2 

  • Jake Austin- Liberal Democrats
  • Dan Barker- Reform UK
  • Nick Buckley- Independent
  • Andy Burnham- Labour and Co-operative Party 
  • Laura Evans- Conservative Party
  • Hannah Katherine Spencer- The Green Party

Full list of candidates running for Manchester City Council seats

Ancoats and Beswick

  • Alan Good (LIB DEM)
  • Julie Jarman (LAB)
  • Chris Stafford (COMM FUT)
  • Kate Walsh Benson (GREEN)
  • Paul Wan (CON)


  • Abdigafar Muse (LAB)
  • Princetta Nicol (CON)
  • Chris Perriam (GREEN)
  • Bernie Ryan (LIB DEM)


  • Luke Berry (CON)
  • Phil Manketlow (LIB DEM)
  • Tracey Rawlins (LAB)
  • Jake Welsh (GREEN)


  • Yemi Ajayi (CON)
  • Grace Buczkowska (GREEN)
  • Dave Marsh (LAB)
  • Euan Stewart (LIB DEM)


  • Asma Alan (GREEN)
  • Kobe Bibbon (LIB DEM)
  • Bev Craig (LAB)
  • Syed Rahman (WORKERS)
  • Muhammad Tahir (CON)


  • Paul Hodges (GREEN)
  • Uzma Jafri (LAB)
  • Muhammad Khan (CON)
  • Melanie Ncube (LIB DEM)


  • Dawud Ali (IND)
  • Shaukat Ali (LAB)
  • Patience Assam (CON)
  • Roderick Morrison (LIB DEM)
  • Edmund Potts (COMM FUT)
  • Fesl Reza-Khan (GREEN)


  • Rhona Brown (LIB DEM)
  • Festus Fofanah (CON)
  • Kate Hughes (GREEN)
  • Tina Kirwin-McGinley (LAB)

Chorlton Park

  • Keith Berry (CON)
  • Chris Rogers (LIB DEM)
  • Mandie Shilton Godwin (LAB)
  • Richard Walton (GREEN)

Clayton and Openshaw

  • Donna Ludford (LAB)
  • Ramzi Swaray-Kella (CON)
  • Samsuzzaman Syed (GREEN)
  • Maria Turner (LIB DEM)


  • Nasrin Ali (LAB)
  • Madasar Anwar (IND)
  • Tariq Baz (IND)
  • Samantha Days (WEP)
  • Arbab Khan (CON)
  • Alison Hawdale (GREEN)
  • Norman Lewis (LIB DEM)


  • Luke Allan (LIB DEM)
  • Marcus Johns (LAB)
  • Jason McLeod (CON)
  • Chris Ogden (GREEN)

Didsbury East

  • Leslie Bell (LAB)
  • Bryn Coombe (LIB DEM)
  • Ben Dundas (GREEN)
  • Linda Foley (LAB)
  • Anjenarra Huq (CON)
  • Charlotte Lanigan (GREEN)
  • Stephen McHugh (CON)
  • Belal Sabbagh (LIB DEM)

Didsbury West

  • Daniel Bell (CON)
  • Deborah Hilal (LAB)
  • Rosie Hughes (LIB DEM)
  • Stanley Parker (GREEN)


  • Chowdhury Billah (WORKERS)
  • Sabreena Hossain (CON)
  • Albie Mayo (GREEN)
  • Ghazala Sadiq (LAB)
  • Lynne Williams (LIB DEM)

Gorton and Abbey Hey

  • Ugo Nzeribe (CON)
  • Jackie Pearcey (LIB DEM)
  • Julie Reid (LAB)
  • Natasha Turner (GREEN)
Plenty of dogs will be joining owners at polling stations in Greater Manchester on May 2Plenty of dogs will be joining owners at polling stations in Greater Manchester on May 2
Plenty of dogs will be joining owners at polling stations in Greater Manchester on May 2


  • Jean Betteridge (GREEN)
  • Gareth Brown (CON)
  • Celia Craske (LIB DEM)
  • Joanne Green (LAB)
  • Sam Hey (TUSC)

Higher Blackley

  • Dean Booth (IND NET)
  • Julie Connolly (LAB)
  • Colin Jones (CON)
  • Peter Matthews (LIB DEMS)
  • Vickey Matthews (GREEN)


  • Ekua Bayunu (GREEN)
  • Yat Cheung (CON)
  • Lee Glover (LAB)
  • Joe Lynch (LIB DEM)


  • Chan Ben Kin (CON)
  • John Bridges (LIB DEMS)
  • Amanda Gardner (GREEN)
  • Jeremy Hoad (IND)
  • Zahid Hussain (LAB)
  • Muhammad Iqbal (WORKERS)


  • Liaqat Ali (LIB DEM)
  • Bernard Ekbery (GREEN)
  • Luthfur Rahman (LAB)
  • Mohammed Raja (IND)
  • Liberty Rowe (CON)
  • Shahbaz Sarwar (WORKERS)

Miles Platting and Newton Heath

  • June Hitchen (LAB)
  • Prashant Kumbhat (GREEN)
  • Donna Liley (IND)
  • Bassel Ounah (CON)
  • Charles Turner (LIB DEM)


  • Popoola Alabi (CON)
  • John Cameron (LIB DEM)
  • Diane Kosandiak (GREEN)
  • Sherita Mandongwe (LAB)

Moss Side

  • Thirza Asanga-Rae (GREEN)
  • Paul Jones (LIB DEM)
  • Bhupinder Kumar (CON)
  • Esha Mumtaz (LAB)
  • Ali Olad (IND)


  • Sylvia Buchan (GREEN)
  • Mark Clayton (LIB DEM)
  • Sam Lynch (LAB)
  • Ezra McGowan (CON)

Old Moat

  • Misbah Ahmed (CON)
  • Laura Bannister (GREEN)
  • Jon Martin (LIB DEM)
  • Gavin White (LAB)


  • Allison Harrison (LIB DEM)
  • Jon-Connor Lyons (LAB)
  • Scott Robinson (GREEN)
  • Sinead Rylance (COMM FUT)
  • Praveen Tomar (CON)


  • Maznin Hussain (WORKERS)
  • Joseph Kalokoh (CON)
  • Jill Lovecy (LAB)
  • Dennis Pirdzuns (GREEN)
  • Shahid Qazi (IND)
  • Mohammed Sajjad (IND)
  • Gregory Sammons (LIB DEM)


  • Brian Candeland (GREEN)
  • Martha O’Donoghue (LIB DEM)
  • Glen Sykes (CON)
  • Emma Taylor (LAB)

Whalley Range

  • Muqaddasah Bano (LAB)
  • Seb Bate (LIB DEM)
  • Norman Hesketh-Hart (CON)
  • Tanvir Marth (WORKERS)
  • Billie Nagle (GREEN)


  • Akbar Arif (CON)
  • Sam Easterby-Smith (GREEN)
  • April Preston (LIB DEM)
  • Chris Wills (LAB)
  • Anna Hablak (LIB DEM)
  • Eric Houghton (CON)
  • Rob Nunney (GREEN)
  • Susan Wildman (LAB)

Election candidates in every Greater Manchester borough

Comment Guidelines

National World encourages reader discussion on our stories. User feedback, insights and back-and-forth exchanges add a rich layer of context to reporting. Please review our Community Guidelines before commenting.