Greater Manchester Elections 2024: Full list of Rochdale Council candidates for May vote

Watch more of our videos on Shots! 
and live on Freeview channel 276
Visit Shots! now
There’s plenty to be decided at the ballot box in May.

Dozens of election hopefuls will be hoping to pull off a similar upset in the local elections to Rochdale MP George Galloway did in the February by-election.

The leader of the Workers Party of Britain promised to field candidates in the local election on May 2 to oust Labour from the council – and with 92 candidates standing, it looks as though he is hoping to make good on that promise. In Rochdale there are 20 seats up for grabs out of a total 60 this year.

Hide Ad
Hide Ad

The political makeup of the council is dominated by Labour who currently have 46 councillors. Making up the 60 includes nine Conservatives, three Liberal Democrats and two Middleton Independents. The Labour Group has control of the council. 

Voters in Rochdale will be heading to polling stations on May 2, 2024Voters in Rochdale will be heading to polling stations on May 2, 2024
Voters in Rochdale will be heading to polling stations on May 2, 2024

Big names to grace the ballot paper this year include the leader of the Lib Dems Andy Kelly, who is hoping to keep his seat in Milnrow and Newhey, as well as Rochdale by-election candidates Iain Donaldson (Lib Dem) Paul Ellison (Conservatives) and Billy Howarth (Workers Party formerly independent). A number of Labour’s top brass are up for election as well with cabinet members Daniel Meredith, Daalat Ali, Carol Wardle, Susan Smith, and Shah Wazir all fighting to keep their seats.

In addition to the options of who they want as their local councillor, residents will get to vote on who they want as their next Greater Manchester mayor as incumbent Andy Burnham’s spot is up for election as well. So residents will have two boxes to cross when they get their ballot paper.

Applications to register to vote must reach the Electoral Registration Officer by midnight on Tuesday, April 16. Applications can be made online. If you do not currently have an accepted form of photo ID such as a passport or driving license, you can apply for a Voter Authority Certificate before 5pm on April 24. The deadline to apply for a postal vote is 5pm on April 17.

Full list of Rochdale Council candidates May 2024

Balderstone and Kirkholt

  • Leonard Branton (CON)
  • Mick Coats (GREEN)
  • William Howarth (WORKERS)
  • Daniel Meredith (LAB)
  • John Swarbrick (LIB DEM) 


  • Jamil Akhtar (WORKERS)
  • Philip Beal (CON)
  • Peter Corby (GREEN)
  • Zarah Kauser (LIB DEM)
  • Lewis Woodall (LAB)


  • Thomas Byrne (WORKERS)
  • Malcolm Bywater (CON)
  • Aisling Gallagher (LAB)
  • Sharon Harrison (LIB DEM)
  • David Jones (IND)
  • Jonathan Kershaw (GREEN)

Central Rochdale

  • Ali Ahmed (LAB) 
  • Farooq Ahmed (WORKERS)
  • Naveed Akhtar (LIB DEM)
  • Shajan Ali (CON)

East Middleton

  • Gillian Jackson (CON) 
  • Barrie Nicholson (LIB DEM)
  • Dylan Williams (LAB)


  • Paul Ellison (CON) 
  • Anja Jungmayr (GREEN)
  • Andy Lord (LIB DEM)
  • Amr Nazir (WORKERS)
  • Shah Wazir (LAB) 

Hopwood Hall

  • Claudius Chonzi (CON)
  • Iain Donaldson (LIB DEM)
  • Steve Potter (REFORM)
  • Carol Wardle (LAB)


  • Saghir Ahmed (LIB DEM)
  • Daalat Ali (LAB)
  • Lynn Butterworth (CON)
  • Mark Hollinrake (GREEN)
  • Haroon Khan (WORKERS)

Littleborough Lakeside

  • Tom Besford (LAB)
  • Ian Jackson (CON)
  • Safina Kauser (LIB DEM)
  • Hannah Macguire (GREEN)
  • Uzair Mehmood (WORKERS)

Milkstone and Deeplish

  • Feruz Ali (GREEN)
  • Minaam Ellahi (WORKERS)
  • Rifat Mahmood (LIB DEM) Shahid Mohammed (LAB)
  • Philip Starr (CON)

Milnrow and Newhey

  • Aiden Forshaw (CON)
  • Avis Gilmore (LAB)
  • Rashida Jordan (WORKERS)
  • Andy Kelly (LIB DEM)
  • Stephen Sharp (GREEN)


  • Sana Aziz (WORKERS)
  • Sarah Croke (GREEN)
  • Sue Moore-Lewis (LAB)
  • Stephanie Robertson (LIB DEM)
  • Peter Winkler (CON)

North Heywood

  • Saliah Begum (WORKERS)
  • Mike Howard (REFORM)
  • Jennifer Kelly (LIB DEM)
  • Paul O’Neill (LAB)
  • Jordan Tarrant-Short (CON)

North Middleton

  • Kath Bromfield (LAB)
  • Chariss Peacock (LIB DEM)
  • Aaron Slack (LAB)

Smallbridge and Firgrove

  • Zulifiqar Ali (LIB DEM)
  • John Blundell (LAB)
  • Eileen Taylor (CON) 

South Middleton

  • Tracy Furnell (CON) 
  • Tony Hughes (LIB DEM)
  • June West (LAB)

Spotland and Falinge

  • Rabina Asghar (LIB DEM)
  • Ann Conway (CON) 
  • Carl Faulkner IND)
  • Faisal Rana (LAB)

Wardle Shore and West Littleborough

  • Adam Branton (CON)
  • Kim Ho (LIB DEM)
  • Syed Kazmi (LAB)
  • Martyn Savin (GREEN)
  • Ali Shahid (WORKERS) 

West Heywood

  • Peter Joinson (LAB)
  • Umar Malik (WORKERS)
  • Tom Shaw (LIB DEM)
  • Stephen Spencer-Jones (CON)

West Middleton

  • Nikki Edwards (LIB DEM)
  • Matthew Roughsedge (CON)
  • Susan Smith (LAB)

Election candidates in every Greater Manchester borough

Comment Guidelines

National World encourages reader discussion on our stories. User feedback, insights and back-and-forth exchanges add a rich layer of context to reporting. Please review our Community Guidelines before commenting.