Manchester United vs Watford: Teams announced with Maguire, Shaw, Rashford & Sancho benched

Harry Maguire, Luke Shaw and Jadon Sancho surprisingly have been dropped for the fixture.

Ralf Rangnick has made four changes to his Manchester United team to face Watford on Saturday, from the one which started against Atletico Madrid on Wednesday.

It’s Aaron Wan-Bissaka, Alex Telles, Nemanja Matic and Anthony Elanga who come in to replace England quartet Harry Maguire, Luke Shaw, Marcus Rashford and Jadon Sancho.

It means United line up with David De Gea in nets and ahead of back four containing Wan-Bissaka, Victor Lindelof, Raphael Varane and Telles. Diogo Dalot starts on the bench for the third game in a row.

Rangnick has selected a functional midfield of Fred and Matic, in the absence of Scott McTominay due to illness. This could see United operate with more of a 4-2-3-1 shape.

Rashford and Sancho aren’t in the United side to take on Watford. Credit: Getty.

If so, Fernandes would play as an advanced No.10, with Paul Pogba out left and Elanga on the right. Edinson Cavani remains injured, meaning Cristiano Ronaldo starts up front.

Rangnick told MUTV pre-match his decision was based on having ‘fresh legs’. “It was about picking the best possible line-up to win this game,” he added.

As for Watford, they make one change with Jermey Ngakia coming in to replace the injured Feminia. Roy Hodgson’s side also contains four former United youth products: Ben Foster, Craig Cathcart, Tom Cleverley and Joshua King.

The Hornets approach the game in 19th and will remain in the relegation zone this weekend regardless of the result at Old Trafford.

Likewise, United will also be in fourth by the end of Sunday, irrelevant of the scores across the Premier League this weekend.

Teams in full

Manchester United: De Gea; Wan-Bissaka, Lindelof, Varane. Telles; Fred. Matic; Elanga, Fernandes, Pogba; Ronaldo.

Substitutes: Henderson, Dalot, Jones, Maguire, Shaw, Mata, Lingard, Sancho, Rashford.

Watford: Foster; Ngakia, Cathcart, Samir, Kamara; Sissoko, Louza, Cleverley; Sarr, Dennis, King.

Substitutes: Bachman, Troost-Ekong, Kabasele, Mesina, Sema, Hernandez, Pedro, Kucka, Kayembe.