Manchester United 2022/23: What are new squad numbers, which will Casemiro and Antony get?

Official squad numbers have been released ahead of Erik ten Hag’s first ever season as Manchester United manager in the 2022/2023 campaign - including for all summer signings such as Real Madrid’s Casemiro.
Watch more of our videos on Shots! 
and live on Freeview channel 276
Visit Shots! now

The English Premier League football season of 2022/23 has finally returned.

With the summer transfer window coming to a close, the ongoing Premier League season has all the potential to be the most exciting to date.

The season is of incredible importance for Manchester United, who under a new manager in Erik ten Hag are seeing all their immediate rivals for the top four places and the Premier League title strengthen. Liverpool have broken their transfer record to bring in Darwin Nunez, Chelsea announced signings including Raheem Sterling, while Tottenham Hotspur have brought in names such as Richarlison and Bissouma.

Local rivals Manchester City have also invested big, briniging in goalscorer Erling Haaland who has already netted 10 times, including back-to-back hatricks.

Ten Hag’s first window at the helm has included the saga surrounding Cristiano Ronaldo’s future, losing Paul Pogba on a free transfer, as well as signing a number of key additions such as Real Madrid’s UCL winning midfielder Casemiro and Ajax’s Brazilian starlet Antony.

Clubs have now officially release their squad numbers - and Manchester United have followed suit.

So here is everything you need to know about Manchester United FC’s official squad numbers for the 2022/2023 European and domestic season.

Who have Manchester United signed so far in the summer transfer window?

Speculation continues to circle RonaldoSpeculation continues to circle Ronaldo
Speculation continues to circle Ronaldo

Premier League clubs were awfully busy so far in the transfer market with a record breaking window, with Manchester United bringing in six groundbreaking additions.

Erik ten Hag has already had to deal with uncertainty surrounding the future of Cristiano Ronaldo, as well as seeing Paul Pogba leave Old Trafford on a free transfer to Juventus.

Nevertheless, Christian Eriksen has joined on a free transfer, as well as promising young full-back Tyrell Malacia from Feyenoord.

The Mancunian club has also raided ten Hag’s former club Ajax, bringing in central defender Lisandro Martinez and promising winger Antony.

The last two additions include the jaw-dropping addition of multiple time Champions League winning defensive midfielder Casemiro from Real Madrid and Martrin Dubravka on loan from Newcastle United.

What number will the new signings wear in the 2022/23 season?

Tyrell Malacia will wear the number 12 shirt for his debut season at Old Trafford for the 2022/2023 season.

Christian Eriksen will wear the number 14 for the 2022/23 season.

Lisandro Martinez will wear number six, with Antony wearing number 21 when he netted on his debut against Arsenal.

Casemiro will wear the number 18 when marshalling the Red Devils midfield, whilst goalkeeping understudy Martin Dubravka will adopt the number 31 shirt.

What is the full list of Manchester United FC squad numbers for the season?

The following is the full list of Manchester United FC’s squad numbers for the 2022/2023 season:


  • 1 - David De Gea
  • 22 - Tom Heaton
  • 26 - Dean Henderson
  • 31 - Martin Dubravka


  • 2 - Victor Lindelof
  • 3 - Erik Bailly
  • 4 - Phil Jones
  • 5 - Harry Maguire
  • 6 - Lisandro Martinez
  • 12 - Tyrell Malacia
  • 16 - Raphael Varane
  • 20 - Diogo Dalot
  • 23 - Luke Shaw
  • 27 - Alex Telles
  • 29 - Aaron Wan-Bissaka
  • 33 - Brandon Williams
  • 28 - Axel Tuanzebe
  • 43 - Teden Mengi
  • 74 - Alvaro Fernandez


  • 8 - Bruno Fernandes
  • 14 - Christian Eriksen
  • 16 - Amad Diallo
  • 17 - Fred
  • 18 - Casemiro
  • 28 - Facundo Pellistri
  • 34 - Donny van de Beek
  • 37 - James Garner
  • 39 - Scott McTominay
  • 46 - Hannibal


  • 7 - Cristiano Ronaldo
  • 9 - Anthony Martial
  • 10 - Marcus Rashford
  • 21 - Antony
  • 25 - Jadon Sancho
  • 36 - Anthony Elanga
  • 44 - Tahith Chong
  • 47 - Shola Shoretire
  • 75 - Alejandro Garnacho

Please note that shirt numbers are still subject to change.