England squad: Man Utd star snubbed by Gareth Southgate as five Man City players called up

Seven Manchester-based players have been included in Gareth Southgate's England squad for matches against Australia and Italy.
Watch more of our videos on Shots! 
and live on Freeview channel 276
Visit Shots! now

Gareth Southgate has not selected Manchester United star Mason Mount in his latest England squad.

The midfielder was omitted from squad last month due to injury, but having regained his fitness, the ex-Chelsea man has not been recalled by Southgate. Mount has endured a slow start to his United career, but was one of the better players on show in the 3-2 loss to Galatasaray on Tuesday night.

The 24-year-old’s snub is something of a surprise given the key role he’s held since breaking into the England squad in 2018, and Mount started five of the Three Lions’ matches at Euro 2020, while featuring in four of five games at the World Cup last year.

But due to an injury at the end of the 2022/23 campaign, Mount has not represented his nation since that defeat to France in Qatar. While the central midfielder has been excluded, his United team-mates Harry Maguire and Marcus Rashford have been called up by Southgate, despite Maguire playing just 26 minutes in the Premier League this season.

The England boss has also stuck with the appearance-shy Kalvin Phillips, one of five Manchester City players named in the England roster, along with Kyle Walker, John Stones, Jack Grealish and Phil Foden.

Southgate has handed returns to West Ham United’s Jarrod Bowen, and the in-form Ollie Watkins, who netted a hat-trick last weekend. There is still no place for Raheem Sterling despite his improved form for Chelsea. England face Australia next Friday at Wembley in a friendly, before hosting Italy in a Euro 2024 qualifier on 17 October.

England squad in full

Goalkeepers: Sam Johnstone, Jordan Pickford, Aaron Ramsdale.

Defenders: Trent Alexander-Arnold, Levi Colwill, Lewis Dunk, Marc Guehi, Harry Maguire, John Stones, Fikayo Tomori, Kieran Trippier, Kyle Walker.

Midfielders: Jude Bellingham, Conor Gallagher, Jordan Henderson, Kalvin Phillips, Declan Rice.

Forwards: Jarrod Bowen, Phil Foden, Jack Grealish, Harry Kane, James Maddison, Eddie Nketiah, Marcus Rashford, Bukayo Saka, Ollie Watkins.