Man City vs Sporting Lisbon: CJ Egan- Riley starts in Champions League last-16 tie

It’s six changes for the Sky Blues from Sunday’s derby win.

CJ Egan-Riley is set to play just his second-ever senior game for Manchester City when they take on Sporting Lisbon on Wednesday night, in the second leg of their Champions League last-16 tie.

Pep Guardiola has just three first-team defenders available for the game and has therefore handed the City youngster a start, one of six changes from the side which stared in Sunday’s 4-1 win over Manchester United at the weekend.

Egan-Riley did play earlier this campaign in the convincing League Cup win over Wycombe Wanderers, but this is his maiden appearance in Champion League.

Fernandinho captains the side against Sporting Lisbon. Credit: Getty.

Oleksandr Zinchenko, Fernandinho, Ilkay Gundogan, Gabriel Jesus and Raheem Sterling also start for City in a much-changed side, which comes as no surprise given the Sky Blues’ 5-0 lead from the first leg.

For Zinchenko, this is his first start at the Etihad since the outbreak of the war in his native Ukraine.

Ederson plays in nets for City against Sporting, with a back four of Egan-Riley, John Stones, Aymeric Laporte and Zinchenko.

Guardiola has a reduced squad to select from at the Etihad. Credit: Getty.

In midfield, Guardiola has gone for Fernandinho, Gundogan and Bernardo Silva, with Kevin De Bruyne relegated to the bench as he is just one booking away from a suspension in the Champions League.

At the top end, Jesus and Sterling start along with Phil Foden, while Jack Grealish and Riyad Mahrez are named among the substitutes.

Youngsters Luke Mbete, Samuel Edozie, James McAtee and Liam Delap are also on the bench.

Teams in full

Manchester City: Ederson; Egan-Riley, Stones, Laporte, Zinchenko; Fernandinho, Gundogan, Silva; Sterling, Jesus, Foden.

Substitutes: Carson, Slicker, Mbete, Rodri, De Bruyne, Grealish, Mahrez, Kayky, Edozie, McAtee, Delap.

Sporting Lisobon: Adan; Goncalo Inacio, Coates Luis Neto; Porro, Ugarte, Bruno Tabata, Reis; Sarabia, Paulinho, Slimani.

Substitutes: Paulo, Virginia, Feddal, Nuno Santos, Vinagre, Edwards, Esgaio, Essugo, Ribeiro, Veiga.