iPhone users issued warning as Apple devices set to permanently delete photos - check if you’re affected

iPhone users are being issued an urgent warning as Apple devices are set to delete an entire photo album from your device next month.
Watch more of our videos on Shots! 
and live on Freeview channel 276
Visit Shots! now

The tech giant has announced it will turn off a decade old feature next month, photo stream. Photo stream creates an album that automatically stores your snaps from the last 30 days, however My Photo Stream stopped uploading snaps on June 26 and everything in it will be lost when the album gets deleted on July 26.

Luckily, there is a way to avoid losing treasured photos forever. If you’re an iPhone user, you’re urged to go on My Photo Stream – which is accessible through the Photos app – look for the album "My Photo Stream" and save any image you want to keep to your device.

My Photo Stream has offered free storage for over a decade and an alternative to iCloud Photos, which is only available at a monthly cost. On its support page, Apple says: “My Photo Stream is scheduled to be shut down on July 26, 2023.

“As part of this transition, new photo uploads to My Photo Stream from your devices will stop one month before, on June 26, 2023. “If a photo you want isn’t already in your library on a particular iPhone, iPad, or Mac, make sure that you save it to your library on that device.”

iPhone users are being issued an urgent warning iPhone users are being issued an urgent warning
iPhone users are being issued an urgent warning

My Photo Stream offers a taster of iCloud, which offers vastly more storage space and keeps photos, however old they are. iCloud offers a free tier of 5GB of storage, which is enough to store around 3,500 photos, but if you want more storage than this you’ll have to pay.

Related topics: