What’s on in Manchester this weekend and beyond: 22-27 July 2022

There are lots of things to do in Greater Manchester this weekend and heading into next week.

Here are a few of our favourites - and if you’d like to tell us about an event, email us at [email protected]

Manchester Craft Beer Festival

Mayfield Depot, 22-23 July

If you’re a craft beer aficionado, or just keen to learn more about new brews, this is the event for you.

Kicking off on Friday night, the two-day event’s beer pumps are manned by the brewers who made the drinks - meaning they are on hand with recommendations and to chat all things beer.

There are day and evening events on Saturday and you can book tickets here.

Manchester craft beer festival is this weekend. Credit: 9parusnikov - stock.adobe.com

Nickelodeon Experience

Heaton Park, 23 July – 5 August

If you are bracing yourself for the prospect of school holidays, this new attraction should help keep your little ones entertained.

Fans of Paw Patrol, Spongebob Squarepants and the Ninja Turtles will enjoy themed zones, an escape room, a maze and lots more with lots of appearances from their fave TV characters. Tickets are available to book at Ticketmaster here.

Edinburgh is set to host The Nickelodeon Experience kids event this summer.

RHS Bridgewater

Worsley, 23 July to 4 September

RHS Bridgewater is running activities throughout the summer holidays from 23 July to 4 September. Visitors can expect storytelling sessions with Zoo Lab, welly walks in the garden and visits from Wild Wings Birds of Prey.

Admission is generally included with your garden entry ticket but you can find out more here.

John Peel’s Shed

Sale Waterside theatre, Wednesday 27 July

In 2002, John Osborne won a competition on John Peel’s Radio 1 show. His prize was a box of records that took eight years to listen to.

This event is an ode to radio, those records and anyone who’s ever sought solace in wireless and features a selection of records previously owned by the late, great John Peel.

Book your tickets here.

Pop quiz night

The Edge, Thursday 28 July

The Edge Theatre and Arts Centre in Chorlton runs a pop quiz each month in its cafe and bar The Dressing Room with comedian, actor and narrator John Thomson hosting.

The next one is on Thursday 28 July and has a summertime vibe, though potential quizzers have been warned they will need an encyclopaedic knowledge of popular music to scoop top spot.

As well as the top prize there are items including music biographies, pictures, T-shirts and badges up for grabs throughout the evening.

Doors open at 7pm and the pop quiz starts at 8pm (with an interval). Tickets are £15 per person for the evening, with six people per team. That includes a platter of snacks. Book places here.