Old Trafford & the Etihad among 14 stadiums submitted for Euro 2028 bid but Anfield overlooked

The grounds of Manchester United and Manchester City could host games at Euro 2028.

Manchester United’s Old Trafford and Manchester City’s Etihad Stadium are among 14 football grounds which have been selected as part of the UK and Ireland’s joint bid to host Euro 2028. The bid, launched by the Football Associations of England, Scotland, Wales, Northern Ireland and the Republic of Ireland, announced on Wednesday which stadiums could potentially host matches, with grounds across all five countries from the the British Isles selected.

Only one city, London, has more stadiums submitted than Manchester, with Birmingham, Liverpool, Newcastle, Sunderland, Dublin, Belfast, Glasgow and Cardiff also put forward as possible locations to host matches. However, there were some notable exclusions on the list, including Arsenal’s the Emirates and Liverpool’s Anfield. The 14 stadiums will be shortened to a list of 10 in April, which will then be submitted to Uefa.

The bid also includes Casement Park, a GAA stadium in Belfast which is currently undergoing renevations, and Everton’s new stadium which is yet to be built. The joint UK and Ireland bid will face competition from Turkey, who are also aiming to host Euro 2028.

In a statement, the FA said: “The plan ensures that all our proposed cities and stadia are connected by direct, quick and sustainable travel links and accommodation that will provide an unrivalled experience for teams and fans.

“The UK and Ireland’s track record of hosting successful major sporting events over many decades means we have the expertise and experience to take this world-class tournament to new heights.

“Our compact plan and pioneering, multi-partner collaboration can usher in a new era for the EURO. Through the latest digital and marketing innovations, we will help UEFA and its partners engage new audiences and the world’s youth to extend the impact and reach of the tournament further than ever before.”

The full list of proposed stadia and cities are:

1. Birmingham - Villa Park

2. Liverpool - Everton Stadium

3. London - London Stadium

4. London - Tottenham Hotspur Stadium

5. London - Wembley Stadium

6. Manchester - City of Manchester Stadium

7. Newcastle - St James’ Park

8. Sunderland - Stadium of Light

9. Trafford - Old Trafford

10. Dublin - Dublin Arena

11. Dublin - Croke Park

12. Belfast - Casement Park Stadium

13. Glasgow - Hampden Park

14. Cardiff - National Stadium of Wales