Man Utd discover three sides they’ll play in Europa League group stage with trips to Moldova & Cyprus

Watch more of our videos on Shots! 
and live on Freeview channel 276
Visit Shots! now
Manchester United were handed a kind draw, although it will involve two lengthy midweek trips.

Manchester United have discovered which three sides they’ll face in this season’s Europa League group stage.

The draw for the first stage of the competition was made by Charly Korbel and former Fulham midfielder Zoltan Gera on Friday in Istanbul.

Hide Ad
Hide Ad

The Red Devils, who were seeded among the top sides, were drawn in Group E against Real Sociedad, Sheriff Tiraspol and Omonia.

It means the Red Devils will face trips to Moldova and Cyprus, as well as a tricky fixture in Spain, in addition to three matches at Old Trafford.

United played Sociedad in 2021 and beat them 4-0 over two legs. It will also mean former Manchester City star David Silva will face his old foes once again.

United will play in Group E. Credit: Getty.United will play in Group E. Credit: Getty.
United will play in Group E. Credit: Getty. | AFP via Getty Images

As for Sheriff, the Moldovan outfit have shown they’re no pushovers and beat Real Madrid last season at the Bernabeu.

Hide Ad
Hide Ad

Meanwhile, Omonia are managed by former Celtic boss Neil Lennon, and the team competed in this competition two seasons ago but were eliminated at the group stage.

As for the other English side in the draw, Arsenal were paired with PSV Eindhoven, Bodo Glimt and Zurich in Group A, which will see Ruud van Nisetelrooy face the Gunners once again, with the ex-United striker now in charge of PSV.

The exact times for all Europa League group games will be announced in the coming days, but the first round of fixtures will be played on 8 September.

United will be aiming to win the competition for a second time, having lifted the trophy in 2017.

Jose Mourinho led United to European triumph in 2016/17. Credit: Getty.Jose Mourinho led United to European triumph in 2016/17. Credit: Getty.
Jose Mourinho led United to European triumph in 2016/17. Credit: Getty. | Getty Images

Draw in full

Group A: Arsenal, PSV Eindhoven, Bodo Glimt, Zurich

Group B: Dynamo Kiev, Rennes, Fenerbahce, Larnaca

Group C: Roma, Ludogorets, Real Betis, Helsinki

Group D: Braga, Malmo, Union Berlin, Saint-Gilloise

Hide Ad
Hide Ad

Group E: Manchester United, Real Sociedad, Sheriff Tiraspol, Omonia

Group F: Lazio, Feyenoord, Midtjylland, Sturm Graz

Group G: Olympiacos, Qarabag, Freiburg, Nantes

Group H: Crvena Zvezda, Monaco, Ferencvarosi, Trabzonspor

Comment Guidelines

National World encourages reader discussion on our stories. User feedback, insights and back-and-forth exchanges add a rich layer of context to reporting. Please review our Community Guidelines before commenting.