Man Utd submit squad numbers to Premier League but key new £72million signing is absent from list

Two of the three summer arrivals at Old Trafford have numbers.
Watch more of our videos on Shots! 
and live on Freeview channel 276
Visit Shots! now

Manchester United have submitted their provisional squad numbers to the Premier League.  

New signing Rasmus Hojlund remains without a number while other key slots are also still vacant. The £72million signing for Atalanta is working his way up to full match fitness and will not be available for a few weeks yet. 

Rasmus Hojlund wore No.17 during his time in Serie A with Atalanta Rasmus Hojlund wore No.17 during his time in Serie A with Atalanta
Rasmus Hojlund wore No.17 during his time in Serie A with Atalanta

It is thought he could take No.17 should Fred move on, with Turkish giants Fenerbahce upping their interest in the Brazilian midfielder with a reported €15million Euro bid. Alternatively, Anthony Martial could be persuaded to switch numbers and Hojlund could become United’s new No.9. 

Fellow new arrivals Mason Mount and Andre Onana have already been handed 7 and 24 respectively. It means United are currently without a No.1 following David De Gea’s exit at the end of his contract. 

The club has warned fans numbers could change again following the end of the transfer window on September 1 with players allowed to move when the full range of numbers available becomes clear.  “Fans are urged to consider this risk when buying numbered replica jerseys in the next few weeks,” United said. 

Man United’s provisional squad numbers

  • 2 Victor Lindelof  
  • 5 Harry Maguire 
  • 6 Lisandro Martinez 
  • 7 Mason Mount 
  • 8 Bruno Fernandes  
  • 9 Anthony Martial 
  • 10 Marcus Rashford 
  • 12 Tyrell Malacia 
  • 14 Christian Eriksen 
  • 16 Amad 
  • 17 Fred 
  • 18 Casemiro 
  • 19 Raphael Varane 
  • 20 Diogo Dalot 
  • 21 Antony 
  • 22 Tom Heaton (GK) 
  • 23 Luke Shaw 
  • 24 Andre Onana (GK) 
  • 25 Jadon Sancho 
  • 26 Dean Henderson (GK)
  • 28 Facundo Pellistri 
  • 29 Aaron Wan-Bissaka 
  • 33 Brandon Williams
  • 34 Donny van de Beek
  • 37 Kobbie Mainoo 
  • 39 Scott McTominay  
  • 49 Alejandro Garnacho