Full Man Utd squad revealed for Brentford clash as Erik ten Hag faces Cristiano Ronaldo ‘decision’

The Red Devils will be without two first team players this weekend, according to their manager.
Watch more of our videos on Shots! 
and live on Freeview channel 276
Visit Shots! now

Manchester United head into Saturday evening’s clash against Brentford looking for their first points of the Premier League season.

The Red Devils fell to a disappointing 2-1 defeat to Brighton & Hove Albion in their opening-day fixture at Old Trafford last weekend, sparking widespread dismay from many quarters of the club’s fanbase.

New manager Erik ten Hag will be acutely aware of the need to bounce back from that result with a much-improved displayed in West London, but will have to do so without either Anthony Martial or Victor Lindelof.

Both players missed out on Sunday’s defeat too, and the United boss has confirmed that neither will be fit in time to face the Bees.

Speaking in a press conference on Friday afternoon, Ten Hag said: “Martial will not be available and Victor Lindelof as well, not for this weekend.”

Brandon Williams, and Facundo Pellistri are also out with injury.

The other major talking point in the aftermath of Ten Hag’s first competitive match was his decision to bench talismanic forward Cristiano Ronaldo.

At the time, the Dutchman suggested that the call was made in relation to the 37-year-old’s lack of match fitness, but suggested on Friday that he could be in contention for a starting berth against Brentford.

He said: “So he had a good training week, I thought he played a little bit longer than half an hour, he’s had two half games and for the starting XI we will see tomorrow. My decision, I keep it.”

Taking all of that into account, we’ve taken a look at the full contingent of players at Ten Hag’s disposal for Saturday’s clash below:

Goalkeepers: David de Gea, Tom Heaton

Defenders: Eric Bailly, Harry Maguire, Raphael Varane, Diogo Dalot, Luke Shaw, Aaron Wan-Bissaka,, Tyrell Malacia, Lisandro Martinez.

Midfielders: Fred, Bruno Fernandes, Scott McTominay, Hannibal, Alejandro Garnacho, Donny van de Beek, James Garner, Tahith Chong, Christian Eriksen.

Forwards: Cristiano Ronaldo, Marcus Rashford, Jadon Sancho, Anthony Elanga, Amad, Shola Shoretire.