Club World Cup draw: Man City could face former Liverpool and Chelsea stars in final

Manchester City will begin December's tournament in the semi-final stages.

Watch more of our videos on Shots!
and live on Freeview channel 276
Visit Shots! now

Manchester City have learned which teams they could face in the semi-final of Club World Cup later this year.

Pep Guardiola’s side are set to take part in the competition for the first time having won the Champions League in June. The Club World Cup pits together the various continental champions, as well as the league winners from the host nation. With the 2023 tournament to be staged in Saudi Arabia, taking part this season will be Al-Ittihad, the club N’Golo Kante, Fabinho and Karim Benzema joined over the summer.

City are joined in the 2023 Club World Cup by Al-Ittihad, Auckland City (Oceania), Leon (North America), Al Ahly (Africa), Urawa Red Diamonds (Asia) and the eventual champions of the Copa America, with the South American final to be played on 4 November.

The tournament begins with a meeting between Al-Ittihad and Auckland in the first match, which is followed by two second-round fixtures. City join the competition at the semi-final stage and will play either Urawa Red Diamonds or Leon on 19 December.

The final will take place three days later in Jeddah and there will also be a third/fourth place play-off. City’s involvement in the tournament means the home Premier League game against Brentford has already been postponed, but it’s hoped the fixtures either side of that won’t be affected. City are provisionally due to play Crystal Palace on 16 December and Everton on 26 December.

The European champions are aiming to win the Club World Cup and become world champions for a first time in their history. City have already claimed the European Super Cup this season, with four other pieces of silverware (Premier League, Champions League, Carabao Cup and Champions League) still available.

Draw in full

First round: Al-Ittihad (SAU) vs Auckland City (NZ)

Second round: Al Ahly (EGY) vs Al-Ittihad (SAU) or Auckland City (NZ) & Club Leon (MEX) v Urawa Reds (JPN)

Semi-finals: CONMEBOL representative vs winner of match 2 (Al Ahly, Al-Ittihad or Auckland City) & Manchester City vs Club Leon or Urawa Reds.