FA Cup 3rd round draw: when is it on TV, how to watch and ball numbers for Man Utd and Man City

Watch more of our videos on Shots! 
and live on Freeview channel 276
Visit Shots! now
With the second round of the FA Cup culminating in a tie between Boreham Wood and St Albans City, we look ahead to everything surrounding the third-round draw.

The FA Cup second round comes to a close on Monday when Boreham Wood face off against St Albans City, meaning that the draw for the third round is fast approaching with both Manchester clubs involved.

This round is extra meaningful for the lower clubs in England’s football pyramid, as in the third round teams from the Premier League and Championship enter the competition.

Hide Ad
Hide Ad

Manchester City and Manchester United are in the draw - and they are ball numbers 25 and 26 respectively.

The Citizens have a rich history in the competition, winning the FA Cup a total of six times, with their last triumph in the 2018/19 season when they demolished Watford 6-0 at Wembley.

United have had even more success in the 141-year-old competition, lifting the famed trophy a total 12 times, making them the second most successful team in the competition - only below Arsenal who have won it 14 times.

The Red Devils’ last FA Cup win, in the 2015-16 season, was Louis van Gaal’s last game as manager of the club, when they beat Crystal Palace 2-1 in extra time.

Hide Ad
Hide Ad

When is the draw?

The draw will be shown live on ITV 4 ahead of the live game between Boreham Wood and St Albans City. Coverage begins at 6.45pm, with the draw estimated to begin at around 7pm.

Who’s included in the draw?

In the previous two rounds, it’s only been League One, League Two and other lower-league clubs which have got through the qualifiers.

In the third round, Championship and Premier League sides are now in the competition.

When are the ties played?

The third round will take place over the weekend of Friday 7 to Monday 10 January 2022.

Ball numbers for the FA Cup third round draw:

  1. Bournemouth
  2. Arsenal
  3. Aston Villa
  4. Barnsley
  5. Birmingham City
  6. Blackburn Rovers
  7. Blackpool
  8. Brentford
  9. Brighton & Hove Albion
  10. Bristol City
  11. Burnley
  12. Cardiff City
  13. Chelsea
  14. Coventry City
  15. Crystal Palace
  16. Derby County
  17. Everton
  18. Fulham
  19. Huddersfield Town
  20. Hull City
  21. Leeds United
  22. Leicester City
  23. Liverpool
  24. Luton Town
  25. Manchester City
  26. Manchester United
  27. Middlesbrough
  28. Millwall
  29. Newcastle United
  30. Norwich City
  31. Nottingham Forest
  32. Peterborough United
  33. Preston North End
  34. Queens Park Rangers
  35. Reading
  36. Sheffield United
  37. Southampton
  38. Stoke City
  39. Swansea City
  40. Tottenham Hotspur
  41. Watford
  42. West Bromwich Albion
  43. West Ham United
  44. Wolverhampton Wanderer
  45. Yeovil Town
  46. Bristol Rovers
  47. Port Vale
  48. Morecambe
  49. Hartlepool United
  50. AFC Wimbledon
  51. Wigan Athletic
  52. Leyton Orient
  53. Cambridge United
  54. Mansfield Town
  55. Swindon Town
  56. Rotherham United
  57. Charlton Athletic
  58. Boreham Wood or St Albans City
  59. Kidderminster Harriers
  60. Shrewsbury Town
  61. Chesterfield
  62. Plymouth Argyle
  63. Ipswich Town or Barrow
  64. Harrogate Town

Comment Guidelines

National World encourages reader discussion on our stories. User feedback, insights and back-and-forth exchanges add a rich layer of context to reporting. Please review our Community Guidelines before commenting.