COVID-19: Travel rules update and what countries are on the red list

New travel rules have recently become active, and more countries have been added to the red list.

Watch more of our videos on Shots!
and live on Freeview channel 276
Visit Shots! now

Due to the emergence of the new Omicron variant, and its seemingly rapid spread through the UK, with over 250 confirmed cases in England, travel restrictions have been brought in to try to slow down the spread of the new variant, which was believed to have originated in Botswana.

New test requirements have been brought in and more locations added to the red list of countries with the highest travel restrictions.

What countries are on the red list?

Current countries on the red list are:

- Angola

- Botswana

- Eswatini

- Lesotho

- Malawi

- Mozambique

- Namibia

- Nigeria

- South Africa

- Zamibia

- Zimbabwe

What are the travel rules for red lists?

As per the government website, if you are travelling to England from a red list country, you must:

- Take a COVID-19 test at least two days before you travel to England.

- Book a quarantine hotel package, including a further two COVID-19 tests

- Complete a passenger location form.

What happens when you arrive in England?

- Quarantine in a hotel, and take 2 COVID-19 tests.

Quarantine in England is for 10 days in a managed hotel.

It’s currently unknown how long the countries on the red list will remain, or how long these new travel restrictions take place, but it’s thought that the new restrictions will be in place until at least the New Year.