Rochdale by-election: What voters need to know ahead of polling day- including what you need to take with you

After a highly controversial campaign, voters go to the polls on Thursday.
Watch more of our videos on Shots! 
and live on Freeview channel 276
Visit Shots! now

Eligible voters in Rochdale are getting ready to visit polling stations this week. February 29 will see members of the constituency vote on who they want to be their new Member of Parliament. 

The by-election was called following the sad death of former Labour MP for Rochdale Tony Lloyd. The seat has been either Labour or Liberal Democrat since 1951. 

Hide Ad
Hide Ad

The upcoming by-election will be one of four major votes the people of Rochdale will take part in in 2024. They are set to vote on an MP twice this year, with a general election set to be announced for later in the year. 

Ahead of polling day, we’ve rounded up some of the key pieces of information those going to vote will need. We’ve also included the all important times when polling stations across the Borough will be open. 

What do I need to take to the polling station? 

If you are voting in person, you will have been sent a polling card which confirms your eligibility to vote. The card will also have the address of the polling station you need to visit to cast your vote.

You’ll also need to remember to take some form of photo ID with you. This is a new aspect of voting in England, and types of ID that are acceptable include passports and driving licensees. A full list can be found on the UK Government website. 

What time can I go to vote? 

Hide Ad
Hide Ad

Polling stations across Rochdale will be open for most of the day on February 29. Stations will be open from 7am to 10pm. 

(Photo by National World)(Photo by National World)
(Photo by National World)

Who are the candidates in the Rochdale by-election? 

A total of 11 candidates will be on the ballot paper for the Rochdale by-election. The full list of these is below: 

  • Azhar Ali, Labour Party
  • Mark Coleman
  • Simon Danczuk, Reform UK
  • Iain Donaldson, Liberal Democrats
  • Paul Ellison, The Conservative Party Candidate
  • George Galloway, Workers Party of Britain
  • Michael Howarth
  • William Howarth, Independent
  • Guy Otten, Green Party
  • Ravin Subortna, The Official Monster Raving Loony Party
  • David Tully, Independent

Comment Guidelines

National World encourages reader discussion on our stories. User feedback, insights and back-and-forth exchanges add a rich layer of context to reporting. Please review our Community Guidelines before commenting.