The Greater Manchester schools nominated for prestigious Educate Awards - full shortlist

There is a strong representation from the area among the Educate Awards nominees.
Watch more of our videos on Shots! 
and live on Freeview channel 276
Visit Shots! now

More than a dozen schools and teachers from Greater Manchester have been nominated for an accolade at the 2023 Educate Awards. This includes establishments from Manchester as well as Bolton and Wigan. 

The Educate Awards have shone a spotlight on the education sector, showcasing the fantastic work of schools and colleges that are continually delivering an outstanding education and supporting young people. The awards have been running for over a decade. 

Hide Ad
Hide Ad

Two of our regions nominations are in Stockport. St James’ Catholic High School was shortlisted for the Innovative & Creative Literacy Award whilst Stockport Academy is in the running for the Mental Health & Wellbeing Award. 

Kim O’Brien, founder of the Educate Awards, said: “A massive congratulations to St James’ Catholic High School and Stockport Academy for making this year’s shortlist.  

“This year we received a record number of entries which made the judges’ job tougher than ever before. It is no mean feat making it this far and so every school and college on the shortlist should be extremely proud.”  

Kim added: “Plans are well underway to make the Educate Awards 2023 ceremony another standout event in the education calendar. Together with our incredible sponsors, we look forward to celebrating the achievements of schools, colleges, and individuals with an evening filled with glitz and glamour.” 

Hide Ad
Hide Ad

The full list of nominees as well as each category is below. Highlighted are the schools and teachers from Greater Manchester. 

Full Greater Manchester nominees for the 2023 Educate Awards

1. The Communication Award 

  • Litherland High School 

  • Manchester Academy 

  • Maricourt Catholic High School 

  • Ridgeway High School 

2.    Outstanding Commitment to the Environment 

  • Ascent Autism Specialist College 

  • Heswall Primary School 

  • The Beacon CE Primary School 

  • Wright Robinson College 

3.    Careers & Enterprise Award 

  • Formby High School 

  • Hope Academy 

  • Ridgeway High School 

4.    SEND Provision Award 

  • Abbot's Lea School 

  • Green Fold School 

  • Maple Grove School 

5.    Innovative & Creative Literacy Award 

  • Archbishop Blanch High School 

  • Gateacre School 

  • Hillside High School 

  • St James' Catholic High School 

  • St Mary's Catholic College  

6.    Outstanding Commitment to STEM 

  • Great Crosby Catholic Primary School 

  • Neston High School 

  • Queen's Park High School 

7.    Outstanding Arts in Primary School 

  • All Saints Catholic Primary School 

  • Bretherton Endowed CE Primary School 

  • Kew Woods Primary School 

  • Netherton Moss Primary School 

8.    Outstanding Arts in Secondary School 

  • Gateacre School 

  • Rainford High 

  • The Hollins 

9.    Community Partnership Award 

  • Chorlton High School 

  • Maricourt Catholic High School 

  • St Margaret Mary’s Catholic Junior School  

10.  Mental Health & Wellbeing Award 

  • Abbot's Lea School 

  • Calderstones School 

  • St Damian's Roman Catholic Science College

  • St Elizabeth's Catholic Primary School 

  • Stockport Academy

11.  Outstanding Commitment to Sport in Primary School 

  • Bedford Drive Primary School 

  • St Elizabeth's Catholic Primary School 

  • St Joseph's Catholic Primary School 

12.  Outstanding Commitment to Sport in Secondary School 

  • Cowley International College 

  • Rainford High 

  • Rainhill High School 

  • St Peter's Catholic High School 

13.  Leadership Team of the Year 

  • Ascent Autism Specialist College 

  • Cardinal Langley RC High School 

  • Green Fold School 

  • Hillside High School 

14.  Teacher of the Year 

  • Catherine Chapman, Gateacre School 

  • Jonathan Miller, Standish Community High School 

  • Stephen Hill, St Joseph's Primary School 

15.  School Support Star of the Year 

  • Jeanette Horrocks, Green Fold School 

  • Kate Watt, Ellesmere Port C of E College 

  • Michaela Jinks, St Damian's Roman Catholic Science College 

  • Philip McGowan, Holy Rosary Catholic Primary School  

16.  Most Inspirational Alternative Provision 

  • Employability Solutions Ltd 

  • Notre Dame Catholic College 

  • Sandbach School 

Manchester AcademyManchester Academy
Manchester Academy

17.  Most Inspirational Sixth Form & College 

  • Ascent Autism Specialist College 

  • Birkenhead Sixth Form College 

  • Myerscough College & University Centre 

  • St John Bosco Arts College  

18.  Most Inspirational Secondary School 

  • Chorlton High School 

  • Ellesmere Port C of E College 

  • Gateacre School 

  • Maricourt Catholic High School 

  • Rainford High 

  • St Damian's Roman Catholic Science College 

19.  Most Inspirational Primary School 

  • Eldon Primary School 

  • Green Fold School 

  • Riverside Primary School 

  • St Peter's CE Primary School 

  • St Wilfred's Church of England Primary Academy 

  • Whitefield Primary School  

  • Alt Bridge School 

  • Beech Hall School 

  • Wade Deacon High School