Bury local election results 2022: who won council elections in my area - as votes counted

Labour emerged from the all-out election still with control of the council chamber in a result that was not as tight as had been suggested on the campaign trail.
Watch more of our videos on Shots! 
and live on Freeview channel 276
Visit Shots! now

Labour held onto control of the council chamber in Bury following an all-out election.

Voters went to the polls to elect councillors for all 51 seats in the borough, with three candidates per ward being selected.

And after all the votes were counted the red rosette emerged victorious with 29 seats.

The Conservatives came in second with 12 councillors elected, while hyperlocal party Radcliffe First now has eight elected representatives in the chamber.

The Liberal Democrats managed to get one candidate elected and there is also one independent in the chamber.

The result was not as close as had previously been thought on the campaign trail, when it had been suggested that Labour could lose out and the council could move to no overall control.

That, however, will not happen after the voters had their say at the ballot box.


The biggest winners on the day, though, were Radcliffe First who gained five seats in total, including taking two from Labour in Radcliffe West ward where they now have all three seats.

Of the nine seats in the town’s three wards, the hyperlocal party now holds eight.

Overall the red rosette gained one seat while the Conservatives and Liberal Democrats did not have the election they would have hoped, with both parties losing three seats in the end.

There were a number of high-profile casualties of the all-out vote too.

The Lib Dem leader Michael Powell will not be returning to the chamber after he came in fourth in St Mary’s ward.

And Conservative deputy leader Paul Cropper lost out on the drawing of straws after he and his fellow party candidate Jo Lancaster both secured 1,278 votes in the Radcliffe North and Ainsworth ward.

The two were battling for the third ward seat after Radcliffe North took the first two.

The all-out election in Bury had attracted a significant amount of interest from political commentators and the big national parties.

Sir Keir Starmer chose to launch Labour’s local election campaign in the town in a measure of its significance to the red rosette and Conservative leader and prime minister Boris Johnson also visited.

The borough is a key parliamentary swing seat as well, with James Daly holding the most marginal seat in England in Bury North and Christian Wakeford securing Bury South for the Conservatives in 2019 only to defect to Labour earlier this year.

The turnout for the local election was 39.3%.

The counting took place on Friday (6 May) at Castle Leisure Centre.

The top scoring candidate in each ward will serve a four year term, the second highest two years and third placed just a year, there are no local elections in Bury in 2025.

Council leader Eamonn O’Brien said his party’s success showed ‘our priorities match with the majority of voters in Bury’.

He said: “I think the results show we have the backing for our policies fo regeneration and supporting communities as well as the poor showing for the Conservatives being a result of the national headlines and the current Government.

“In Radcliffe where we lost seats I think many voters have obviously lost faith in the mainstream parties.

“We need to redouble our commitment to the town and accelerate the regeneration fo the town.”

Conservative leader Nick Jones, who faced a recount for his own seat in Pilkington Park said the closeness of the race there showed that his party had not performed as well as expected.

During the count, he said: “If Labour are taking a seat in Pilkington Park then it’s obviously not good.”

Yvonne Wright, who quit the Conservative Group earlier this year to go Independent, retained her seat in Tottington, topping the poll with 1,795 votes.

The election also saw the retirement of Labour member Trevor Holt after a 39-year stint on the council.

Who won in my ward in Bury Council?

The full results for each ward in the Bury local elections can be viewed on the council’s website.